I drove to Cincinnati for Woodworking in America this past October. I arrived early so I could spend a day exploring the area. It was recommended I visit the Warren County Historical Society Museum in Lebanon. So I did. They have an excellent collection of Shaker furniture. They also have a surprisingly good assortment of other furniture and tools. Well worth the visit.

There are antique shops in and around Lebanon that I felt obligated to visit. It was time well spent. I saw a several pieces I hadn’t seen before and some variations that were new to me.

Heading to my hotel, I stopped at a large antiques mall in Reading. One impressive piece there was a Biedermeier roll top desk. Biedermeier was not a specific maker but a style of German furniture design that ran from 1815 to 1848.

Click for pictures of Antiques around Cincinnati on Flickr

Click for pictures of Antiques around Cincinnati on Flickr

The shop in Reading also held this tool chest. Dovetailed, three steel casters, three sliding tills with dovetailed dividers, one covered, a hanging saw till with lid, a small till under the saw till and a covered storage compartment in the back third of the bottom. Very interesting.

Click for full set on Flickr

Click for full set on Flickr

Lots more to come.