Back on a gorgeous Saturday in September, I drove up to Lynchburg, Virginia for a meeting of the local chapter of the MWTCA. After spending time with the area tool enthusiasts, I was drawn to the downtown antiques district. Lots of shops of varying levels from high end antiques to consignment store vintage. Only thing missing was electricity and the lighting that usually accompanies it. Looking at antiques in the dark gives me an appreciation for difficult it was for the colonists to shop for antiques.

As I was about to leave, the power came on. My OCD commanded me to go back through the shops again. Much of what I had seen seemed much less old in the light. Things are much more interesting when you use your imagination. Still, lots of genuine antiques worthy of photographing.

After exhausting the downtown area, I hit some dealers in the greater Metro area. More picture worthy stuff. One item I liked was a small and unique tool chest.

TC_LYNCHBURG

It might be small but it has a lot of interesting detail, dovetails, nearly clocked screws, sliding till and a drawer where you don’t expect one. It also has hardware unlike any hardware I’ve seen before. You can’t buy hardware like this at Lowes Depot.

Click here to see full Lynchburg set on Flickr

Click here to see full Lynchburg set on Flickr

In the afternoon, I rejoined the toolies for a guided tour of Thomas Jefferson’s Poplar Forest. It is Mr. Jefferson’s country home currently undergoing restoration. It was well worth the effort getting there.

Coming up next, using the color and texture of the Masonite® back to determine the age of antiques. Luan will be covered later.