I see a lot of antiques and I have no interest in owning many of them. Mostly because I can’t afford them, I don’t have room for them and I want to stay married. There are a few pieces that I think are interesting (and cheap) enough to add to the collection. When they are at an auction, I place an absentee bid and walk away. I don’t have the patience to sit through an auction and I fear I would get sucked into the bidding fervor and overpay.

And sometimes I don’t win. Below are two such pieces. I was so confidant that I would take them home that I didn’t take enough pictures or measurements. Neither is that outstanding an example but both are things I haven’t seen before and was interested in replicating. Simple but challenging.

The first is a serving tray with a drawer and lock. The tray is about 18″ by 12″ by 5″ high. I like the notion of a locked drawer on such a portable piece but I guess it does provide a very casual level of security.

Click to see full Flickr set.

Click to see full Flickr set.

The other piece was billed as a salt box. It is a wall hanging box with carcass dovetails, a dovetailed drawer, nailed on bottom and lid with integral hinge pins. Nice box and the first one like it I’ve seen.

Click to see full Flickr set.

Click to see full Flickr set.

The previous post had a broken link for the full set of pictures of Pittsboro antiques. Click here to see the full set on Flickr..