Nailed and boarded furniture seems to be all the rage. Adam Cherubini and Chris Schwarz have been writing about it for a while now at Popular Woodworking. Mike Dunbar did an construction article about a boarded chest for Fine Woodworking back in 2009. Tommy MacDonald just did a six board chest for Rough Cut. (Why he put those ugly/inappropriate gate handles on the ends I don’t know.) And today I just watched Don and the boys on the Woodsmith show build a rustic step-back cupboard.

Everybody uses cut nails. Tommy Mac actually did one of his famous road trips to the Tremont Nail Company. What a guy!

I got a request for pictures of some other than dovetailed furniture and today I comply. I have a set here of six board chests, cupboards, jelly and pie safes, and mule chests.

Click to see the Boarded Furniture set on Flickr

Click to see the Boarded Furniture set on Flickr

Above is a cupboard from South America. I can’t tell if it is a repair to the bottom or an attempt to raise it.

I am particularly fond of wooden pintle hinges. I used this style hinge for a chest I built at the Woodwright’s School a few months back.

Wooden pintle hinge

Wooden pintle hinge

Below is a set with detailed pictures of a mule chest I reproduced. I had to build my own because after three years of admiring it, someone else went and bought it. I guess it wasn’t a museum after all.

Click to the the Mule Chest Set on Flickr

Click to the the Mule Chest Set on Flickr

Pie safes are coming soon. Lots of different tins.