Until I can get someplace with a real internet connection (AT&T DSL… is less than ideal.), I thought I’d show some stuff from the archives. On the way to Woodworking in America in 2011, I visited the Speed Museum Louisville, KY. I had never been to Louisville, it wasn’t that far out-of-the-way and I heard good things about the museum. There wasn’t that much furniture in the main portion of the museum but there was a special exhibit of Kentucky Furniture from the Noe Collection. Recent acquisitions I expect.

I have come to appreciate Kentucky and Tennessee furniture. Not as fancy as Boston, Philadelphia or New York but still interesting. More flat than turned. Clean simple lines with just a bit tasteful ornamentation.

Click to see the full set from the Speed Museum.

Click to see the full set from the Speed Museum.

I will let the furniture speak for itself. Not much I can add.

The Speed Museum is closed for a major expansion through 2015. I’ll be there when it reopens.