Every April and September there is a huge outdoor antiques festival not far from me. And I go. In fact, I go early on the first day. Can’t afford to miss anything although I usually don’t buy much. There is just so much to look at. This is the largest festival I’ve been to other than the Brimfield festival way up there in Massachusetts.

I get there early to avoid the lines and crowds as much as possible. It is interesting (to me) to note that most of the people there early are old people like me. Those under 30 don’t roll in until after 11:00 AM. The question is do the younger people have a life or would the older among us prefer looking at old stuff to sleeping in?

Another reason for going early in the climate in North Carolina is such that even if it’s 55° when I leave home, by noon I am wondering why I didn’t wear shorts. By 4:00 PM it’s s really warm in those tents with a few hundred of your closest friends.

Their web site screams "NO CRAFTS OR REPRODUCTIONS" but I'm not sure all dealers read it. This batch all had the "Made in China" labels attached. But the labels looked old.

Their web site screams “NO CRAFTS OR REPRODUCTIONS” but I’m not sure all dealers read it. This batch all had the “Made in China” labels attached. But the labels did look old.

A maritime campaign chest. Click on the picture to see just the pictures of this chest.

A maritime campaign chest. Click on the picture to see just the pictures of this chest on Flickr.


For more information on maritime campaign furniture check out the Pegs and ‘Tails blog here. A similar piece is discussed way down in the comments.

This festival has a bit of everything. Fancy stuff, primitives, tools, smalls. Click to see all the pictures on Flickr.

This festival has a bit of everything. Fancy stuff, primitive, tools, smalls. Click to see all the pictures on Flickr.

And the ever popular 45° dovetails.

45° dovetails.

45° dovetails.

I can’t wait until April and the another chance to take a walk in the country with old stuff.

If you think you saw this post earlier, you did. It got published before it was ready. Things happen.