I have a bad habit of becoming so fixated on getting the picture that I don’t take the time to look at what I’m taking a picture of. That’s what happened on this piece. High-end auction house, crowded preview and a couple that needed to stop at everything I found interesting and talk about something unrelated to the piece they stopped in front of. They moved, I got my pictures and moved on. It wasn’t until I started loading the pictures onto the MacBook that I realized that there was something unusual about the dresser. It looks like end grain veneer.

Take a look:

End grain veneer?

End grain veneer?

Sure looks like it.

Sure looks like it.

And a side view.

And a side view.

I wish I were more observant and had taken more time to study it. The auction was in early December and this piece is long gone. I would like to know how thick (or thin) you need to make end grain veneer?

I dunno. Any thoughts, theories or actual knowledge appreciated.