My Saturday started with a visit to the Lie-Nielsen Hand Tool Event at NC State University. Always good to look at nice shiny things I can almost afford. After around 45 minutes, I figured I had extracted about all the fun out of the event I could and it was starting to get crowded. Time to move on. Since I was way over in Raleigh, I thought I would do something different and go look at antiques.

I visited many of the usual places. Mostly a nice selection of the mundane, a few fancy pieces and one over-the-top French desk. There were a few things I found interesting.

A pie safe on stand. One of the few I've seen.

A pie safe on stand. One of the few I’ve seen.

A stepback cupboard with two vertical panels in the doors. Not rare but not common.

A stepback cupboard with two vertical panels in the doors. Not rare but not common.

A chest with a with a canted till on the right and great strap hinges. Tills are more commonly on the left. This is the first one I've seen with a canted front wall.

A chest with a with a canted till on the right and great strap hinges. Tills are more commonly on the left. This is the first one I’ve seen with a canted front wall.

The following piece is a bit of an enigma. The parts seem old but there are many contemporary features. The old, puckering and lifting veneer. Hand cut dovetails and solid drawer bottoms. Sawtooth shelf supports. A natural looking patina.

The new. Shiny euro hinges on the center doors and a track and pocket into which the doors disappear, like the armoire in your favorite hotel. The satin black boards on the back are atached with bright shiny staples.

Is a puzzlement…

But is it old? Puckering veneer but shiny euro hinges and pockets for the upper doors.

But is it old? Puckering veneer but shiny euro hinges and pockets for the upper doors?

Hand cut dovetails and solid drawer bottoms. Yet the back is attached with bright shiny staples.

Hand cut dovetails and solid drawer bottoms. Yet the back is attached with bright shiny staples.

This piece was described as being homemade. It doesn’t look like anything I’ve ever seen. I hate to use the word naive but it fits. It has all the right parts and features just arranged a bit differently. And without regard to convention. The anarchist’s server.

The anarchist's server? Familiar yet unique.

The anarchist’s server? Familiar yet unique.

I do like the use of bookmatched panels on the doors.

I do like the use of bookmatched panels on the doors.

Click here to set all 78 pictures on Flickr.