Poor thing.

I stopped by a local auction house for the Thursday preview of a Friday auction. I knew there wouldn’t be much there but I needed to get out of the house for a bit. There is a lot of good stuff in the back room for an upcoming auction. This wasn’t that week.

As I wandered about not seeing much of interest, I came across this poor thing.

This piece might have seen better days. Maybe not.

This piece might have seen better days. Maybe not.

Up close it doesn’t get any better.

Drawers are rabbeted and fastened with wire nails.

Drawers are rabbeted and fastened with wire nails.

It’s actually worse from the back.

Rickets or Scurvy?

Rickets or Scurvy?

How about that top.

And a gentle curve to the top. Flat tops are overrated. And boring.

And a gentle curve to the top. Flat tops are overrated. And boring.

What happened? I’ve seen warped furniture before but nothing quite this bad. As compelling as it is, it’s an auction. And I have undiagnosed ADD. Can’t sit there hour hours trying for one piece.

And where would I put it?

I’ll post the rest of the auction later with the photos from the other local auction house’s Saturday auction.