And if you’re lucky, you learn two things!

Looking for something different to do, I saw there was an upcoming auction on Saturday. I went over on Friday to see what I could see. Many interesting things two of which I will share today.

The first is an odd hinge in which both leaves are mortised into, not on to, the frame and door. They penetrate into the wood and are pinned in. A little research and I discovered these are fiche (plug) hinges also called armoire hinges. As I first thought, these are European hinges used primarily in France. Many fiche hinges are loose leaf (loose butt, lift off) hinges meaning the two leaves are held together by gravity. If installed correctly, you can lift the door off of the armoire. If installed incorrectly, the door just keeps falling off.

Fiche hinge on a small wardrobe, exterior view.

Fiche hinge on a small wardrobe, exterior view.

Fiche hinge, interior view.

Fiche hinge, interior view.

Fiche hinge. Image pilfered from Whitechapel Ltd.

Fiche hinge. Image pilfered from Whitechapel Ltd.

Information about Fiche hinges and their installation can be found at Whitechapel Ltd.

The is a thread about installing Fiche hinges here at Fine Woodworking

There was a speciality tool for cutting the mortises, the Fischbandeisen or slotting chisel. Look it up. For those interested, that Google thing works real good.

The other new (to me) device is a single lock that locks two drawers. The lock is located on a divider between the drawers and sends out two bolts when locked. One bolt goes high and to the left, the other bolt goes low and to the right. I’ve seen this lock before without realizing what it was. I can’t find a picture of the lock today. When I find one, I’ll let us all know.

The two-bolted lock.

The two-bolted lock.

Right drawer with the low mortise.

Right drawer with the low mortise.

Left drawer with high mortise.

Left drawer with high mortise.

And they all live in this piece.

And they all live in this piece.

The rest of the auction pictures will go up as soon as AT&T DSL lets me.