pan·der – ratify or indulge (an immoral or distasteful desire, need, or habit or a person with such a desire, etc.).
 
 

WTF? Justin Bieber, arrested? OMG!!

Doesn’t quite sound right. I don’t think I want to go there.

Never mind. It won’t happen again. Promise.

There are an estimated 7,143,560,739 people in the world. Too big a target. There’s only around 317,441,983 humans in the US. Based on my circle of acquaintances, it is safe to say around half of these are serious woodworkers. (Ever been to a Woodcraft when they’re having their bag sale?) Based on my average US views, I am only reaching about 0.00002929% of my possible readers. (Per capita, I’m huge in New Zealand.) I must do better.

To that end, I present Porsche by Design, a display of 22 Porsches at the North Carolina Museum of Art through February, 2nd. Not much to do with woodworking but everything to do with design. I went back there a second time to take pictures for you, my readers. You’re welcome.

And NO dovetails!

Much of Porsche’s 70 plus year history is represented in this exhibit, from a 1938 Type 64 Berlin-Rom Racer to their 911 GT3 R Hybrid Race Car Prototype.

911 GT3 R Hybrid Race Car Prototype . Mileage still isn't all that great.

911 GT3 R Hybrid Race Car Prototype . Mileage still isn’t all that great.

And Janis Joplin’s 1965 Porsche Type 356C Cabriolet with it’s restored custom paint job.

Janis Joplin's Cabriolet. Not your typical Earl Scheib paint job.

Janis Joplin’s Cabriolet. Not your typical Earl Scheib paint job.

Something for everyone. The curators do gloss over Ferdinand Porsche’s Nazi past and contribution to the German war effort. I understand it was covered during the Museum’s accompanying lecture/discussion series. Something for everyone.

Click HERE to see my pictures on Flickr.

Click HERE to see the official NC Museum of Art page.

And thus endeth my pandering for this, the 29th day of January, 2014.