In my last blog, Bodged or Botched, I pointed out the efforts made to mount a bail pull on a very thick drawer front.

I’ll wait while you go back and look.

I received this comment from Orion Henderson of Horton Brasses:

The installation of the posts (eyebolts in this case) on the first pull is quite common, and has been for hundreds of years.

It is called counterboring and is the technically correct way to install all posts. Nowadays most people just let the posts stick out on the inside of the drawers-but they should be cut below flush and counterbored.

A post with a machine screw fitting would be an easier, if not period correct, approach.

And if anybody knows, Mr. Henderson should.

Being most antique shops are closed at 8:00 PM on a Tuesday night, I did a quick tour of my wife’s family heirlooms and darned if he wasn’t right. All counteredbored. The man knows his nuts screws hardware.

And the requisite pictures. Screws may not be original.

Counterbored screw.

Counterbored screw.

Deeply counterbored screws.

Deeply counterbored screws.

Squarely counterbored screws.

Squarely counterbored screws.