The local high-end auction house has occasional auctions to clear out unsold inventory and other pieces that don’t fit into one of their estate or catalog sales. It’s mostly good stuff, it just doesn’t have a central theme or fit in with the exceptional pieces they have in their catalog auctions.

Last Saturday they had one of these auctions. Feeling the need to do something different, I went to the preview of this auction and took some pictures. I’ve already gotten four posts out of it. Time to show all the pictures move on.

If you’re in a hurry, you can look at the set HERE.

One of the first pieces to catch my eye was this table. Click on the pictures to see larger images.

A nice simple table. I think it's Shaker.

A nice simple table. I think it’s Shaker.

I always have questions about construction details. I had time and a camera so I took a picture. Actually a lot of pictures. It’s a bit hit or miss taking pictures of the underside of a table in a dark room. This was the best one.

Underside of the table. Note the brick laid curved apron. Click to enlarge.

Underside of the table. Note the brick laid curved apron. Click to enlarge.

Although I am not a fan of rococo revival/bombe furniture, this chest was interesting to study.

Rococo revival/bombe chest. Don't love it.

Rococo revival/bombe chest. Don’t love it.

I know the front of the drawer is not dovetailed but how about the back?

The drawer just fell out. Honest.

The drawer just fell out. Honest.

The back is dovetailed and deserves a closer look.

Half missing dovetail. Any explanations?

Half missing dovetails. Any explanations?

Still don’t love bombe furniture. There is a picture of the case interior in the Flickr set.

For your last chance to see all 79 pictures in the Flickr set, click HERE.