I was wrong again. Who’d have thought?

I’ve seen things like this around for years and never thought much of them. I thought they were invented country looking things, possibly made by gen-u-ine “Amish craftsman”.

Is it a faux rustic magazine rack and towel holder?

Is it a faux rustic magazine rack and towel holder?

This one looks a little older than many I've seen. Age or skillful distressing?

This one looks a little older than many I’ve seen. Age or skillful distressing?

Turns out it’s actually something. Looking around the shop, I found another one not quite as tarted up. This other one bills itself as a rice scoop. They grew a lot of rice here in North Carolina on through the mid 19th century. I am not sure it is a rice scoop but, after a bit of research, I believe they are two-handed grain scoops. And rice is a grain.

Two handed grain scoop. Honest.

Two handed grain scoop. Honest.

A bit of interesting joinery on the forward, fixed handle.

A bit of interesting joinery on the forward, fixed handle.

And a little honest wear on the nicely polished bottom. Not planed or sanded. Grained.

And a little honest wear on the nicely polished bottom. Not planed or sanded. Grained.

As usual, CLICK on the pictures to enlarge. And try not to make assumptions about what anything is. Do as I say, not as I do.