As I am beginning to believe, there is no one way to do anything, build anything, hold anything. There doesn’t seem to have been a single set of plans for tool chest construction. I’ve seen many variations on the chest and they do have a few things in common. Except for them Dutch ones, most are rectangular, have a lid with hinges or lifts off and has from one to seventeen tills, most, but not all, slide.

Tills can slide or not. Be covered or not. Have drawers or not. Cases can be dovetailed, nailed, frame and panel.

No drywall screws. Ever! Not even a repair. Spax screws, maybe. Eh, maybe not.

Another variable is how many saws and how they are held. Commonly, it is a saw till. The till can be mounted on the bottom or side or be hanging as in the two below. They are interesting tool chests. Click on the pictures to see the rest of their images.

Fixed and covered till, attached to the front. Click to see the chest.

Fixed and covered till, attached to the front. Click to see the chest.

Covered but removable till. Click to see the chest.

Covered but removable till. Click to see the chest.

Same chest. Note the nicely dovetailed till dividers. Click, you know you want to.

Same chest. Note the nicely dovetailed till dividers. Click, you know you want to.

Another variation is the saw frame. This is the only one of these I’ve seen but I’ve been assured there are others. This is a hinged frame mounted to the lid. Saws are slid into the slots in stretchers of the frame. It looks something like this:

May I introduce the saw frame. Click it, I dare you.

May I introduce the saw frame. Click it, I dare you.

I hear there are other systems. When I find them, I will let y’all know. For now, enjoy the tool chests.