For nine months in 2012/2013, my wife was a student at the Culinary Institute of America in St. Helena, Napa Valley, California. As a dutiful husband, I would fly out there every three weeks or so to visit her. To help adjust to the time change, I would usually fly out a day early. She had eight hours of classes starting at 1:00 PM or earlier. I had to find some why to entertain myself. I couldn’t do anything too interesting, I had to save those for us activities over the weekend. If she had lots of homework, which she always did, I got kicked out earlier.

Not being interesting in tasting wine, I was inspired to start looking for antiques dealers. On this particular day, we wandered up north to Healdsburg to look around a bit before an early lunch. After lunch, my wife went to school. Feeling all alone and far way from home, I hit the antiques shops with a vengeance. I was a man on a mission.

I started in Healdsburg, down to Santa Rosa and then the various shops on the road to Sebastopol. A by then familiar route. Every other trip. Can’t visit the shops too often. Not enough inventory turnover to make the drive interesting.

When I got back home to our big lonely house in North Carolina, I did my laundry, patted the cats and changed their box, paid some bills and headed out. I was on my way to the Peach Meet of the Mid-West Tool Collectors Association (MWTCA) in Madison, GA. Then on to Atlanta for a Lie-Nielsen Hand Tool Event® and a class at Highland Woodworking in Atlanta. Oh, ya, the Cathedral Antiques Show, a really high-end show, was also that weekend. Darn them, they don’t allow photography.

Did I mention I drove down to Madison via Columbia, SC. They got antiques there. Who knew?

This is a very eclectic set. Two coasts. Four or five cities. A travelogue in antiques. Click HERE to see the set.

Clicking on the pictures will just enlarge them for this blog.

You could call this campaign furniture. And you'd be wrong. A book coming out soon will explain all.

You could call this campaign furniture. And you’d be wrong. A book coming out soon will explain all.

Not really a tool chest. It is dovetailed.

Not really a tool chest. It is dovetailed.

Worst woodworker ever! Overcuts! Yuk. Little did he (most likely) know we would ridicule him 120 years later for working efficiently.

Worst woodworker ever! Overcuts! Yuk. Little did he (most likely) know we would ridicule him 120 years later for working efficiently.

All this and more can be found at THIS HERE set. Enjoy!