Oh, Lord. Not another on of those…

Maybe I should just call it an explanation of why I do what I do.

In the beginning I only looked. Then I started describing what I saw to a few (very few) interested parties. Then I would send them a few pictures. That became awkward and I got a Flickr account so I could upload the pictures and the interested parties could go and look at their leisure. I wasn’t filling their mail boxes with megabytes of images. Then they could share or download images if they so choose.

I was sending sets of pictures with commentary to a select group a few times a week. Then it was suggested, requested and finally demanded that I start a blog. And I did.

So, there you have it.

There was this in the comments:

“No drop pulls, no acorn-carved handles or escutcheons… no Eastlake furniture to speak of! You work for PopWood or something?”

You mean like this:

A carved pull

A carved pull

on this stand:

A two drawer stand with marble top.

A two drawer stand with marble top.

And an Eastlake-ish piece from Iowa. Iowa didn’t seem to have much older.

Click to see the rest of the set from my trip to Iowa.

Click to see the rest of the set from my trip to Iowa.

An interesting  Arts & Crafts piece.

An interesting Arts & Crafts piece.

I couldn’t easily come up with a drop pull but I’ll keep looking.

When I started taking pictures in earnest, I decided to focus on 19th century and older furniture. 20th century and newer furniture tends to be factory made. Eastlake and Arts & Crafts furniture was largely factory produced. I like to pretend the furniture I photograph could be made by a single a worker or in a small shop. This is probably not true but I can live with it. One quick check is hand or machine cut dovetails. Machine cut started around the beginning of the 20th century. I like the older stuff.

Aside from the Iowa set, there is a goodly amount of A & C, Art Deco and Art Nouveau in the Virginia Museums of Fine Art In Richmond. It is covered in the VMFA and the More VMFA sets.

As for working for Popular Woodworking, nah, I don’t think so. I really enjoyed it when it was Pacific Woodworker magazine. And then when Steve Shanesy was editor the first time. Somewhere in there they adopted the Cooks Illustrated style book and changed the look. I’m not sure it’s a proper magazine for a guy in a flannel shirt to read. Current editor seems to be doing an OK job. Still not enough articles on Scandinavian or Jacobean furniture…

This commenter inquired about 3-D virtual tours. I say knock yourself out. I spend too much taking pictures as it is.