We all know servers as supposed to have square legs. They might have inlay and/or bellflowers, Be cuffed. Tapered. Angled. There could be 4, 6 or 8 of them. But they are square. Ish. Like these:

Square

Square

Square

Square

And square.

And square.

And then, the other day, my world was rocked when I saw this:

Turned legs. Click to see a leg.

Turned legs. Click to see a leg.

Turned legs on a server. I was in shock. Who knew such a thing could happen or be allowed. Where were the furniture police? I contacted two of the nation’s best furniture experts that were likely to read my e-mails. They at first thought they were replacements. I went back, took more pictures and stared some more. They seemed to be original. I then went out and did extensive research by reading the auction catalog. The catalog stated that if was a Federal Inlaid Massachusetts Sideboard attributed to William Hook, Salem, circa 1810. There we have it. Irrefutable proof that round legged servers exit.

Doing more research, I looked through my extensive photo library and found two more round leggers.

This is another one. Click to see a leg.

This is another one. Click to see a leg.

And finally this one. Click and nothing will happen. I don't have a picture of the legs and focus is soft.

And finally this one. Click and nothing will happen. I don’t have a picture of the legs and focus is soft.

Who place these images into my library? I don’t know. And why did they do it? Maybe I did. I just don’t know.

Click HERE to see the documentary photos of the Salem server.

Interesting that I can prove by looking at three pictures that 100% of squared legged servers have ring pulls. Scholarship at it’s best.