Oy, have I got pictures. I have been adding furniture pictures to my library at an alarming rate. I really need to stop all these attempts at education and just start moving product.

This is a set from November at various places around the area. No major event or auction. Just assorted stuff and antiques. My world and welcome to it.

I do like to look at things that I haven’t seen before and others that reveal how they are built. The below piece is not old but it does reveal its construction methods. In earlier days, or on a better piece, it would have been covered with veneer. The is a curved drawer front laminated and glued on a form. Then two halves were joined with a splined joint to make a whole.

Laminated curved drawer front. Click to see the splined joint.

Laminated curved drawer front. Click to see the splined joint.

Another piece is an older chest (I hope) or at least more interesting. It has turned legs, lots of veneer, cockbeaded drawers (cockbeading partially obscures the dovetails) and an interesting top.

Look at this handsome chest. Click to see some drawer and turning detail.

Look at this handsome chest. Click to see some drawer and turning detail.

Click HERE to see the rest of the set. More turned decorations, veneer, inlay, dovetails. All the usual stuff you have come to expect. Same stuff, different day.