I am not a shill. No one has confronted me directly but I have seen things in the forums that lead me to believe that people think I am a shill for the American Gout Stool and Gout Rocker Manufacturers Association. I receive no money from the AGSGRMA, their PAC’s or their 501(C)(6). When I get a gout rocker, I pay the full medical deductible just as any other insurance card carrying American citizen would pay.

It is true that I am the founder and curator emeritus of the Mid-Atlantic Gout Apparatus Collectors Association and Museum of Ruthford, PA (metro Sidman area). It is also true that I am shopping a two book deal to Tuanton Press on the design and evolution of gout related furniture. I do have some financial interest but this is no way has anything to do with my love or enthusiasm for the topic. It is unusual to find a type of furniture that has done so much for so many. Here are my two most recent local finds.

Looks like a NOS (New Old Stock) rocker. Pristine.

Looks like a NOS (New Old Stock) rocker. Pristine.

Less fancy but no less serviceable. Also in good condition.

Less fancy but no less serviceable. Also in good condition.

You can read my previous gout rocker posts HERE and HERE.

It is interesting that I have only found gout rockers in central North Carolina. None in Portland, Oregon or Seattle. Not San Francisco. Not even in Baltimore or Philadelphia. Could it be that a diet of sweet tea, barbeque and Krispy Kreme® is unhealthful?

And now for the contractually required educational component of the blog. This is a small set from an auction in June of last year. This is one of the best sets I took that week.

Click to see the full set from June 2013. I take better picture now, 8000 pictures later.

Click to see the full set from June 2013. I take better picture now, 8000 pictures later.