I think I’ve mentioned before that I don’t always see the furniture I photograph until I get home and load and adjust the images. I have to work fast. I’m not sure if the owner is going to ask me to leave. Or worse yet, stay with me and tell me the virtues of every piece I see. And there are the other customers that wander in and out of my pictures. Don’t they realize how important my work is? Let’s not forget that yoga pose I have to use to get the picture of the dovetails on the bottom drawer.

I obviously “saw” this desk when I photographed it but didn’t really understand it until I was editing the pictures. I thought it was just a nice desk until I considered it in the context of Campaign furniture. I believe it breaks down into three pieces, the desk top and two pedestals.

Nice desk with an adjustable, tilting top. Or so it seems.

Nice desk with an adjustable, tilting top. Or so it seems.

If you try to open one of the three drawers across the top, you realize it is a secretary-like pull-out gallery.

A gallery. Not what I expected.. Click for another view.

A gallery. Not what I expected. Click for another view.

And behind the nice big doors on the pedestals are…

Drawers. Who'd have thunk it?

Drawers. Who’d have thunk it?

Campaign or not? I don’t know. Nice desk though.

I really liked the hinge this on small wall cabinet. Another form of pintle hinge.

A stylized pintle hinge. Click to see the small wall cabinet.

A stylized pintle hinge. Click to see the small wall cabinet.

Lastly, for today, I always like to find the manufacturer’s marks on a lock or hinge. Adds a little context and sense of place to the item.

A simple little writing slope. Click to see the lock with maker's information. It's from London.

A simple little writing slope. Click to see the lock with maker’s information. It’s from London.