I saw this marble top stand at a local auction house today. Nothing all that unusual until you look at some of the details. Marble top is a little out of the ordinary. Being painted is different. I really can’t think of another painted stand in my library.

A nice little marble top stand.

A nice little marble top stand.

The back was also a bit different. There is usually some fairly nasty wood on the back of a piece at this level. Or at least not much effort expended making it nice. When I saw that the back on this one was a raised panel, I was impressed. Somebody actually cared.

Raised panel on the back is  not what I was expecting to see. I don't think the split is original.

Raised panel on the back is not what I was expecting to see. I don’t think the split is original.

Then I saw an old label that explains it all. It’s an import.

It's foreign. That explains the paint. And the funny writing style.

It’s foreign. That explains the paint. And the funny writing style.

Now if I can just figure out what these two stubs sticking out the back are for. I thought they might be an extension of the drawer runners. They are not. The stubs are not connected and only penetrate into the wood about 3/4″ of an inch.

Stubs of unknown purpose. Share if you had a thought.

Stubs of unknown purpose. Share if you have a thought.

Oh, I almost forgot. The dovetailed drawer picture. A crowd favorite.

You didn't think I forgot the drawer shot, did you?

You didn’t think I forgot the drawer shot, did you?

Since I am contractually obligated to provide a certain amount of content, I throw in this wall shelf at no additional cost. Consider it an encore.

Kinda different. I think it would make a great project for a magazine article. Megan? Sorta Arts & Crafts. Bob?

Kinda different. I think it would make a great project for a magazine article. Megan? Sorta Arts & Crafts. Bob?

Click on any image to see an enlarged view of that image.