Sometimes I have to stop and consider what to blog and other times it’s just comes to me. This one just came to me. Or more accurately, I stumbled across it. I have seen four of these in the past two weeks after living my life without being aware of seeing one.

The first two I found in an antiques shop in Asheboro, NC. Separate dealers. The last two were found at a large outdoor antiques festival yesterday. Again, different dealers.

What I am talking about is the Davis Swing Churn, a swinging butter churn. These were patented in 1879 by the Vermont Farm Machine Company, made in twelve sizes, the largest being a ceiling mounted 300 gallon churn. I like this line from the description: “For an additional 16 dollars this company sold a treadmill attachment that allowed a dog, goat or sheep to supply the power to swing the churn.” What would PETA think?

You can read a more detailed article by Clicking HERE. I assume others made similar devices.

This is the first one I saw:

Looks to be the original paint.

Looks to be the original paint.

Then 50 feet away I found this one:

Similar to the first.

Similar to the first.

Then yesterday, I found another. The dealer insisted it was a unique, home brew from a family with lots of children to churn the butter. Another civilian and I talked her down. She wasn’t happy with us but accepted it, at least while we were there talking to her. Tomorrow, who knows?

Might be a larger unit. Note the cast cross brace.

Might be a larger unit. Note the cast cross brace.

And then I saw a sign from the blog gods, a fourth one.

Number four. I think it's been restored. Click for another view.

Number four. I think it’s been restored. Click for another view.


What a Box (Follow-up)

Remember the box?

Remember the box?

After all the conversations about the box and its origins, I decided to do a little research on it, see if it might have come from Pier One or equivalent. After an extensive three minutes of research, I found out some interesting things about the box. First I did a Google image search and found a similar box in the third line of the image search. That image linked to an eBay search. A quick search on eBay found an auction with a similar box. A real similar box. Turns out it’s the same box. Not similar, the same box. I matched all the knots and irregular surfaces. It is the same bloody box.

I e-mailed the eBay seller and she claimed she bought it at a tag sale in Danbury, CT. It sold on eBay on March 14th. I bought it on April 3rd in Charlotte from a dealer’s brother. (The dealer was off dealing.) The brother thought he had bought it at another auction locally.

I still don’t know were it came from but I know where it’s been.