I got pictures. Maybe, I got too many pictures. I have been adding pictures faster than I’ve been blogging about them. At this rate I’ll never catch up and if I don’t catch up I’ll never be able to quit. I try not to leave things unfinished.

I’m going way back into the archives to November 2012 and January of 2013. These are from before I started shooting dovetails and other construction details. They are, however, pictures of interesting furniture.

From November, we have this unusual till from a painted chest. First, it’s on the right. Most tills I’ve seen are on the left. Then, there are the drawers below the till. One of the drawers has a lock. Most tills don’t have drawers.

Unusual till.

Unusual till.

Then, there is this nice, simple desk. Most of us grew up with one just like it.

Nice little desk. IKEA has one just like it.

Nice little desk. IKEA has one just like it.

Click HERE to see the set from November, 2012.

In January, I saw this boarded chest on stilts. Preparing for global climate change?

Is is a repair or an afterthought.

Is is a repair or an afterthought.

And I really liked the gallery on this rather refined secretary. You don’t see this everyday. Unless you work in antiques shop.

Fancy yet tasteful

Fancy yet tasteful

Click HERE to see the set from January, 2013.

For political reasons, I sat for a while with my wife as she was watched Gone With the Wind for the nth time a few weeks back. I avoided the movie until seeing it at a revival house shortly after we were married. The things we do for love. Although admired by many, me, not so much. I have a hard time getting excited about people who can’t dress themselves. Don’t love Downton Abby either.

I did discover a way to make them a bit more interesting. Just go to your Happy Place®, zone out on the dialog and just look at the furniture. In GWTW, they even have some scenes with cutaway views of houses.

Speaking of Downton Abbey, I was at Winterthur recently. They had a large selection of Downton Abbey books in the Americana section. Didn’t make sense to me either.

Any readers left?