The local  high-end auction house is having an impressive sale from the estate of a Richmond, VA couple. It is billed as a single-owner, catalogue-level auction. I can’t disagree. It’s going to take a while to process and upload the pictures so I thought I might offer some interesting things as teasers.

First is a another hinge previously unknown to me. You could call it a staple/strap hinge. For want of a better word, a staple is driven down into the back board of the chest and clenched. Half of a strap hinge is wrapped around the staple and riveted to the lid. And it looks something like this:

Staple/Strap hinge? Click to see the chest it's from. It is the top chest of the stack.

Staple/Strap hinge? Click to see the chest it’s from. It is the top chest of the stack.

Since I am up here in Winchester, VA at the Museum of the Shenandoah Valley for a MESDA Regional Seminar on food/pie safes, I thought I would add the pie safes from the auction.

First is a safe with an eagle motif.

Click to see the side panel on this safe.

Click to see the side panel on this safe.

An eagle motif tin. Click to see an enlarged view.

An eagle motif tin. Click to see an enlarged view.

A more elaborate tin. Click to see the side panel.

A more elaborate tin. Click to see the side panel.

I'm sure this motif has a name. I just don't know what it is. Click to see the side panel.

I’m sure this motif has a name. I just don’t know what it is. Click to see the side panel.

And this one:

Yet another pie safe. Click to enlarge.

Yet another pie safe. Click to enlarge.

And a different tin. Click to enlarge.

And a different tin. Click to enlarge.

It is amazing how many different tin patterns there are. I have seen few if any repeats. If you missed the pie safe set the first time it was offered, click HERE to see it.

Finally, I offer this edge profile on the top of a chest. It is the most complex profile I’ve seen in a while.

Nice profile, no? Click to see the chest on which it lives.

Nice profile, no? Click to see the chest on which it lives.

Let me know if any of you have this moulding plane in your collection. Chuck Bender, when asked, said something about hollows and rounds. Sounds like work.