It’s was an odd and busy May. Work and rebuilding the deck kept me from spending as much blog time as I would have liked. Sometimes stuff happens. Sometimes it doesn’t. I will try to do my best for you, my readers, to correct this unfortunate situation and work through the backlog.

This set is from an local auction house. It was the collection from a couple from Richmond, VA. This was not a single focus collection but a very diverse and inclusive collection of primitives, high-end, pie safes, chests, carved English furniture with a few tchotchkes (chotskies or צאצקע) thrown in to make it interesting. This is the type of collection I would like to leave behind if I had money, knowledge and good taste. And was dead.

First is this trapezoidal server:

Trapezoidal Server

Trapezoidal Server

which yields this equally interesting drawer.

Unlike any drawer I have.

Unlike any drawer I have.

Then there is this typical looking dovetailed chest:

A chest like many others.

A chest like many others.

but with snipe hinges,

A snipe hinge, that's different.

A snipe hinge, that’s different.

Here is one of many carved English pieces:

It's carved, English and old.

It’s carved, English and old.

with a great latch:

Not your typical latch.

Not your typical latch.

and a fancy hinge.

Decorated hinge.

Decorated hinge.

Here is a press with large drop pendant pulls that I don’t think is Eastlake.

Eastlake, no.

Eastlake, no.

Technically, this is a chest on chest on chest.

Chests of many sizes.

Chests of many sizes.

Finally, is this what future auctions will look like?

Let's hope not.

Let’s hope not.

To see all 166 images from this set, click HERE.