I am now down here in Baton Rouge on business. I’m getting a check and everything. Before I got married I rarely traveled for pleasure. I was traveling enough for business and family, I saw no need spend my own money to go somewhere. My wife loves travel. I have adjusted my thinking. I have figured out the difference between personal and business travel. For personal travel you get to go where you (or your wife) want to go but there is no per diem check and no one meets you at the airport.

I had some time off yesterday and one of my coworkers suggested that there might be some antiques dealers nearby. So, wanting to try something new, I ventured out to see what I could see. I found one complex that had an assortment of shops with many interesting things to see. And I saw.

I came across this painted cupboard:

Antique cupboard.

Antique cupboard.

What makes it interesting is the pintle hinge.

A metal pintle hinge. Allows the doors to lift off.

A metal pintle hinge. Allows the doors to lift off.

Then there was this impressive (French) armoire:

Don't hate it because it's French...

Don’t hate it because it’s French…

with a truly amazing molding around the crown.

Anyone have the pattern for this one.

Anyone have the pattern for this one.

I’ve seen many dough bowls but this is the first dough bowl with stand.

A rarely seen dough bowl and stand.

A rarely seen dough bowl and stand.

And for our metal fans:

I really like this latch.

I really like this latch.

An adjacent shop was closed but the door was interesting:

A unique hinge and latch.

A unique hinge and latch.

Click HERE to see the first Baton Rouge set.

And finally, a celebration of management/employee communications near the loading dock at work:

One picture is worth more than three words.

One picture is worth more than three words.