Thursday morning I drove back to the Baton Rouge airport to trade out my rental car. When we arrived, Enterprise was out of cars. While we were looking at one car, another rep gave it away to another renter. They finished the paperwork first. We ended up with a large domestic SUV. Not my first, second or third choice in light of the fact I am driving to Houston next week.

I called Enterprise and they assured me that if I headed right out, I could get something more reasonable. I got there and they had a small selection. I thought I was going to get a new Hyundai Sonata. It turns out that the although Enterprise and National seem to have a common staff, they have separate inventories. I ended up with a Nissan Altima. I would have preferred a Ford Fusion but it was not to be.

Anyway, I must have made a wrong turn leaving the airport because 20 minutes latter, I found myself in Denham Springs, LA. I stopped into the first shop I saw to ask directions back. Turns out it was an antiques shop, who knew? Turns out there were around 15 antiques shops in town. Realizing my horrible mistake, I tried to salvage part of the day and started looking around at the inventory.

First big thing I noticed was this storage unit. It seems to have many drawers. If you thought that, you would be wrong.

Tall storage unit.

Tall storage unit.

Not drawers. A few months ago, there was a mechanics chest on which what appeared to be drawer fronts actually were doors that slid to the left to reveal the pigeon hole’s contents. In this case, the “drawer fronts” slide up one unit height where a latch holds it open until released.

Slide the door up one door height.

Slide the door up one door height.

The latch holds doors up until released.

The latch holds the stack of doors up until released.

Another few months back, Chris Schwarz was writing about the Roubo bench and fixating on a toothed French bench dog. I found a well worn exemplar on an ancient French workbench.

Looking at the recess below the teeth, one might think that the teeth have been sharpened a few times.

Looking at the recess below the teeth, one might think that the teeth have been sharpened a few times.

The same shop had this English chest of drawers.

Two over two chest of drawers.

Two over two chest of drawers.

The maker had a fondness for sliding half dovetails for case construction.

Where's the other half of the sliding dovetail?

Where’s the other half of the sliding dovetail?

Here we have a half blind dovetail drawer done the hard way.

Most would have and did cut it straight vertically. Ignore the nail, it's been there a while.

Most would have and did cut it straight vertically. Ignore the nail, it’s been there a while.

One shop had a stage loaded with tools.

Need tools, they have 'em.

Need tools, they have ’em.

And I don’t know why but this painted chest appealed to me.

Boarded chest with storage on top.

Boarded chest with storage on top.

There were many interesting shops. One shop was packed floor to ceiling with many marvels so densely I couldn’t figure out how to photograph any of it. The only thing I am not showing in this set is the if the large selection of French furniture at some of the shops. I learned from previous posts that not all of you like French furniture. To keep peace in the family, I will post the French furniture tomorrow.

To see the 80 pictures in this set, click HERE.