We’ve already seen quite a lot from the Rural Life Museum, but wait! There’s more…

Today it’s the furniture and other items from the main building of the museum. There are all the external buildings yet to view. Many of these buildings have furniture but I think that furniture will be understood more in context if I show that furniture with the buildings.

As I said, there is a great deal of unique furniture in the museum building. Like this seated jockey scale:

Jockeys were weighed before the races and weights were added to insure all horses were carrying the same weight

Jockeys were weighed before the races and weights were added to insure all horses were carrying the same weight

And some modern conveniences like this state-of-the-art washing machine:

Modern washing machine.

Modern washing machine.

There is some utilitarian furniture such as this high-style loom bench:

Who needs four legs?

Who needs four legs?

And what display would be complete without some medical devices:

I think I sat on one like this as a boy. Feeling old...

I think I sat on one like this as a boy. Feeling old…

In the next day or two I will post the buildings. Until then, you can look at this set by clicking HERE.