After a few insistent e-mails in the past 24 hours, I believe I need to make a few corrections and clarifications pertaining to yesterday’s blog post. Nothing major. It’s just that there are those who believe that I may have misled some and left a few others with the wrong impression of how events transpired.

I never actually got to meet Chris Schwarz. On Wednesday, he made a few introductory remarks. Then Thursday afternoon he did an interesting presentation on campaign furniture. Chris did maintain office hours but most of the teaching was done by adjunct faculty in the person of Willard (Bill) Anderson. Chris spent most of the time either working with Roy on his reality show or hatching book deals.

Megan Fitzpatrick did not reject all my story ideas. I never actually presented her any ideas to reject. Those who have not met her do not appreciate what a truly imposing presence she possesses. I would see her in the dining hall but she was always in the faculty dining area. The one time I shared an elevator with her she was in the middle of a tele-editorial meeting that I didn’t want to interrupt.

The project I wanted to pitch was based on an IKEA STORNÄS buffet but built with solid walnut, cockbeading, hand-cut dovetails and fewer knock-down fasteners. A real potential crowd pleaser, I believe.

IKEA STORNÄS buffet. Imagine it made with walnut and a few period details like bracket feet.

IKEA STORNÄS buffet. Imagine it made with walnut and a few period details like bracket feet.

If there is enough interest, I might publish it on my own.

So, you see, I did get a few details wrong initially. I wouldn’t go as far as calling it misleading but mistakes were made. I corrected most of of them here. I hope this stops the e-mails and phone calls for now. The record stands corrected and I can sleep well at night.

Or, at least that’s how I remember it.