All good things must come to an end and the time came for me to leave Baton Rouge and head home. But before I did, I found a few places to stop and take furniture pictures. Not all of them were in Baton Rouge. I did find a high-end antiques shop in Baton Rouge. They had a very nice assortment of better furniture. It was a very bright day, their showroom was very dark with big windows. Photography was… challenging. Some images were lost. But enough survived to make the trip worth it.

Here is a rather unique server:

Interestingly carved gallery and legs. Click to see a closeup of a leg.

Interestingly carved gallery and legs. Click to see a closeup of a leg.

Then off to Houston stopping by Lumberton, TX. They have a great tool store and a few interesting antiques dealers. There, I found some notable furniture:

Not all that old, but I like it. My blog, my rules.

Not all that old, but I like it. My blog, my rules.

And lots of tools:

This one would have followed me home but the price tag was missing and they couldn't find the dealer. Some things were just not meant to be.

This one would have followed me home but the price tag was missing and they couldn’t find the dealer. Some things were just not meant to be.

I spent most of my day in Houston at Bayou Bend and the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. There were many fine and worthy antiques shops in Houston but after experiencing morning rush hours, I decided to get out of Dodge (er, Houston) before experiencing the PM version. I did take time to visit one architectural salvage dealer and one good consignment shop. Not much for this blog at the salvage place but a few items at the consignment shop met the requirements.

There was this server:

Many might consider it Eastlake'esque. I do.

Many might consider it Eastlake’esque. I do.

And this American Empire style server:

Note the width of the center drawer. Linen drawer?

Note the width of the center drawer. Linen drawer?

With a little luck, I’ll be back there in the near future.

To see the entire tri-city set, click HERE.