Much to my surprise, most people have not been to New York City. I think a lot of people (me) just assume that others have had similar life experiences, been where we’ve been and know what we know. I am finding out that this is not true. Most people have not been to New York City. Or Saint Petersburg. Or Singapore. Or South Padre Island.

Knowing this, it is incumbent upon me to share what I have seen and learned. Noblesse oblige.

Gallery 774 – Luce Center Visible Storage
at The Metropolitan Museum of Art is an amazing place. To cut and paste from their site: The Henry R. Luce Center for the Study of American Art is a visible-storage facility that displays more than ten thousand works of American fine and decorative art.

It is a large gallery with row after row of display cases filled with treasures in a rather high density display setting. And everything is under glass. Or behind it. Like most museums, The Met (we sophisticates call it “The Met”) has more in it’s collections than it can display. Even a place as big as The Met. Visible Storage gives us a chance to see another 10,000 items from their American fine and decorative arts collection. And that ain’t bad.

Being as my time was not infinite, I focused mainly on the furniture. There is an amazing assortment of furniture in there. From the fancy:

Fancy enough for you, Chuck?

Fancy enough for you, Chuck?

to some primitives:

A nice wall box.

A nice wall box.

And they have clocks:

These are just some of the case clocks.

These are just some of the case clocks.

A piece I stared at for quite a while was this exploded chest:

Exploded to allow you study the joinery.

Exploded to allow you study the joinery.

And that's how you make a blind dovetail.

And that’s how you make a blind dovetail.

Click HERE to see the Visible Storage.

The one annoying thing was that it was all behind glass. This made photography more challenging, all those reflections and all that glare. I didn’t think to buy a polarizing filter for my Canon G11. I was told that there was a person that opens the display cases for bloggers but she was off Mondays.