A few months back I had one of those very long antiquing days. When I am driving somewhere, I try to plans the drive to maximize the number of antique shops and museums. I started the day with a 90 minute drive to my favorite four acre antique shop. Many of the painted chests from this shop were covered in the 172 pictures in a PREVIOUS BLOG.

Then a mile down to an always interesting auction house. And a drive to Stantonsburg only to discover most of the good shops are closed on Wednesday. Who knew? Next was a drive south hitting every promising antiques shop until I ran out of time in Lumberton, NC at 6:00 PM. I did visit lots of dealers and took too many pictures.

And now I’m going to share.

First amazing piece it this attractive chest of drawers:

Looks like three drawers.

Looks like three drawers.

that doesn’t have any drawers.

The hinge tells me it is a chest with faux drawer fronts.

The hinge tells me it is a chest with faux drawer fronts.

Ever see a chest you really like but aren’t sure what the primary wood is?

Nice chest. What is it?

Nice chest. What is it?

Just look in the drawers.

"All exposed structural parts and plywood faces..."

“All exposed structural parts and plywood faces…”

I do have a fondness for painted armoires. This one is no exception.

I don't always like painted furniture, but when I do, I look at armoires.

I don’t always like painted furniture, but when I do, I look at armoires.

It has some very nice details on the door.

An 1806 still life.

An 1806 still life.

I really liked this piece but no place to put it and no patience for sitting through an auction watching people buying stuff I don’t care about.

Nice piece that went home with someone else.

Nice piece that went home with someone else.

And the last preview is my favorite lock.

One lock, two drawers. And it's French, typically.

One lock, two drawers. And it’s French, typically.

For those new to this lock, the lock has two bolts. One is high and goes to the right. The other bolt is low and goes to the left. Both drawers have appropriate mortises for the bolts. This lets you lock two drawers with one lock.

I really want one of those locks. If anyone knows the name of this lock or where to buy one, I would be forever in your debt if you shared.

To see more of these and lots of interesting things (bellflowers), click HERE.