I know I said the next blog would be about tables but it’s not. Seems I need to get one more picture that I didn’t have in my extensive inventory. And I looked. Twice. I do use labels and tags but I never thought this was a label or tag I would need. I was wrong. Just this once.

Back in late October, I wrote about William S. Wooton and his desk company. (You can read it HERE.) I did find another picture of an Ordinary Grade desk:

Found this one near Des Moines on my way to HandWorks 2013 in Amana, Iowa.

Found this one near Des Moines on my way to HandWorks 2013 in Amana, Iowa.

I visited an antiques shop in Greensboro, NC a while back and found this monster:

It be big. And fairly cheap.

It be big. And fairly cheap.

Closed it would look something like this:

I could only close half. Too much stuff to close the other wing.

I could only close half. Too much stuff to close the other wing.

It is much newer than most Wooton desks and not nearly as well made. You might be able to see it in this picture:

Lots of boxes.

Lots of boxes. Not much for grain matching.

Wings lift off:

Pintle hinge. Screws not clocked.

Pintle hinge. Screws not clocked.

And it’s made by:

lllll

Grand Rapids Joint Company?

Who knew? If you know anything about them, please share.