Just before going to bed a few nights back, I saw that a respectable auction house in Wilson, NC was having their annual post-Thanksgiving auction, always special. Previews were running all week. I could preview the auction and visit my favorite four-acre antiques dealer and the high-end dealer right across the street. And maybe a few along the way.

Saturday morning I went on-line to see if the preview started on Saturday by any chance. I should never make plans based on something I read right before going to bed. The auction was pre-Thanksgiving and started in a half hour. It’s a 90 minute drive east and taking pictures once an auction starts is always awkward.

Since my chores were done and I was planning a road trip anyway, I went looking for another auction to visit. Nothing looked promising until I saw a warehouse clearance auction in Greensboro, 45 minutes west of me. It looked interesting but it is often hard to tell much from 100 pixel square images. I packed up my iPhone and hit the road.

The address was a large mill complex that is in the midst of preservation and redevelopment. The Revolution Mill is the 630,000 square foot former Cone Mills textile plant that had seen better days. The auction was in a smaller building away from the main 500,000 sq. ft. structure. The auctioneer had lost his lease and in the process of vacating the premises.

The venue:

It's big, dark and cold. Bathrooms worked, though.

It’s big, dark and cold. Bathrooms worked, though.

It was a big, dark, cold building with an uneven/rotting floor. Expected loud and annoying, aging transformer hum. Discarded latex gloves around and a few other unsavory things I choose to forget. I was trying to get a feel for the inventory but it was hard. Often you can get a feel or some vibe from the items but this one was all over the place. I just gave up try to understand it and just decided to go with the flow. An odd collection of left-overs and unloved curiosities. It is what it is.

This is the title piece, I don’t think the plastic shrink wrap is purely decorative:

It's structural. Cut the plastic and run.

It’s structural. Cut the plastic and run.

Worse from the back.

Worse from the back.

There was this really unique, painted chest:

Ain't seen another one like it.

Ain’t seen another one like it.

And a large armoire:

Large armoire.

Large armoire.

What makes it interesting is the wooden pintle hinges top and bottom on the doors:

A wooden hinge, how unique.

A wooden hinge, how unique.

The were many shipping crates:

Shipping crate.

Shipping crate.

With sliding dovetail battens:

A dovetail and it slides.

A dovetail and it slides.

And last but not least, the final preview and my first PG image ever:

Click to see an close up of the display.

Click to see an close up of the display.

Once I got into the right frame of mind, it really was a wondrous and eclectic collection. Nothing there I wanted to own but I am certainly glad I went.

I am a better man for it.

Maybe.

Click HERE to be taken to Oz.