Way back in February, I did a blog on bodged items. (See it here at Bodged, it’s not what you think.) The definition I used was essentially just doing what needs to be done to make it work. Maybe not pretty but functional. I have found a few new example I want to share. Why, because it’s what I do.

First in an interesting way to fix stripped hinge screws:

That is one way to do it.

That is one way to do it.

Most of us would addressed the stripped out wood. The average person might use the “toothpicks and glue” technique to reinforce the hole. Others might drill out the holes and use long grain plugs (but not a dowel). They chose to drill and countersink new holes on the hinge. Dang overachievers.

I like this one too. They centered the lock but didn’t notice the key wasn’t centered on the lock:

Technically a very well done repair.

Technically a very well done repair.

And you might have the non-standard use of a(n?) escutcheon:

Not as designed but it works.

Not as designed but it works.

Same here:

Who decides what up?

Who decides what up is? Who ordered the wrong lock?

And the improvised escutcheons:

This one is a bit rough.

This one is a bit rough.

I can almost believe this one was made this way.

I can almost believe this one was made this way. Hard to say.

And that’s all for tonight. I’m exhausted.