At least for this week.

Looking for something new and interesting to do over the weekend, I stopped by an interesting antiques dealer in Raleigh. There was this interesting desk:

I like this desk. I really like it.

How interesting. I like this desk. I really like it.

Of course it has dovetailed drawers:

Dovetails, how nice.

Dovetails, how nice. They are nice dovetails.

I spent a few minutes looking for how get the desk to open. I pushed, pulled, pried, lifted. Everything short of actually ask the staff. I am a male of a certain age and that just isn’t done. Finally I pushed harder on the lid and as the lid slid in, the drawer with gallery and writing surfaced slid out.

One goes in and the other moves out. In opposition, as it were.

One goes in and the other moves out. In opposition, as it were.

And the fall board falls to provide the writing surface:

A writing surface.

A writing surface.

Unlike other secretaries/butler desks, this one has only one latch:

Just one latch is all they needed.

Just one latch is all they needed.

Another unique thing is that these desks usually have a pair of  quadrant hinges on the fall front, like this:

The usual suspect, but not on our desk

The usual suspect, but not on our desk.

Our desk has game table hinges:

This hinges works as well.

This hinges works as well.

And really nice legs:

Spinet legs.

Spinet legs.

This desk is only $695 as is. I didn’t ask what sins the “as is” covers. I really like it. I just have no place to put it.  It just doesn’t fit my needs at this point in time.

If anybody desperately wants it, I’ll tell you where in Raleigh it lives.