Most of you might not realize that I have a more than a passing interest in dovetails. I consider myself a collector or perhaps a connoisseur. I have seen many, many of them (and so have some of you). Most of the time they are fairly regular. Like on this desk:

Seemingly a conventional slant front desk.

Seemingly a conventional slant front desk.

Carcass dovetails look normal within limits.

Carcass dovetails look normal within limits.

The back is typical while not quite Thos. Moser.

The back is typical while not quite Thos. Moser.

Even drawers don’t display much creativity:

Nothing out of the ordinary.

Nothing out of the ordinary.

Not pretty but not different.

Not pretty but not different.

But the bill/document drawers are art:

Who said spacing has to be consistant?

Who said spacing has to be consistent?

Are these any less strong?

Are these any less strong?

Who is Edward Nell, Jr.?

Who is Edward Nell, Jr.?

You groove to your dovetails, I'll dig mine.

You groove to your dovetails, I’ll dig mine.

I call them jazz and not free-form because the angles are (mostly) the same. It’s just the tempo, the timing that changes.

Can you feel it?