Today I visited the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, Massachusetts. The main reason for going was to see the exhibitIn Plain Sight: Discovering the Furniture of Nathaniel Gould.  Chuck Bender wrote about this exhibit in September on his late Popular Woodworking blog.

I went and am now in the dog house. I picked this weekend based on the fact my wife and a group of our friends were going to the beach on Emerald Isle, NC. It is a beach house that has by rented by our group for six of the past eight years. Problem is I don’t love the beach as they do. I grew up in Western Pennsylvania. We didn’t have beaches. They go to the beach, I go to Boston. Seems fair.

Now the bigger problem is that my wife’s work schedule changed and she isn’t able to go to the beach and I still went to Boston. The airplane tickets were non-refundable. At times the word conspires against you.

Back to the woodworking content of the blog. In February, I wrote the blog Bodged, it’s not what you think with a follow-up last Friday, They Did It the Hard Way, Bodged II. This is not bodging, it’s custom fitting.

Looking at this Nathaniel Gould secretary:

An exceptional secretary.

An exceptional secretary.

It deserves another view.

It deserves another view.

I took a look at the brasses and saw they were not all lying flat but some had been well fitted to the slant front and drawers.

Well fitted into the recess.

Well fitted into the recess.

More fitted brasses.

More fitted brasses.

And it goes both ways:

Around the recess.

Around the recess.

And over the block front.

And over the block front.

Not fitted but no lock either.

Not fitted but no lock either.

And this last picture is neither fitted nor bodged but it is a nice carved shell:

Somebody in the Gould shop was highly skilled.

Somebody in the Gould shop was highly skilled.

Oh, what the heck, the top shell and finial are interesting, too.

A broken arch pediment with shell and finial. They carved interior and exterior shells.

A broken arch pediment with shell and finial. They carved interior and exterior shells.

Only time will tell how much trouble I’m in. Probably not all that much. I have a truly understanding and tolerant wife. I do. Really.