I was sitting around my hotel room last night considering my options for today, Saturday. Thursday, I flew up to Boston and toured the Museum of Fine Art. Then off to Woburn to visit the new Woodcraft. Not a big deal but it got me out of Boston before the traffic got too bad. It’s always bad, before it got worse. It will be a nice store once they get it unpacked.

Friday was the Lie-Nielsen Hand Tool Event at the Furniture Institute of Massachusetts in Beverly, the Peabody Essex Museum, The House of Seven Gables and Nathaniel Hawthorne’s birthplace. And then after lunch…

No, that was a full day. Since it was early, I stopped at a mall to kill time and possibly do some damage control. (See yesterday.)

For reasons I won’t go into here, I wasn’t sure if I would be cleared to make this trip until Tuesday. I hadn’t invested too much time into the planning beyond Friday. I made a trip to lobby brochure rack and checked the web and saw that Manchester, NH showed promise. Many things to do and only about an hour away.

My agenda was a small promising looking antiques shop. Then the Millyard Museum, a small museum at the old, massive Amoskeag Manufacturing Company mill complex.

At the Amoskeag mill. Ironic to some, meaningless to others.

At the Amoskeag mill. Ironic to some, meaningless to others.

Finally to the Currier Museum of Art. This museum currently has a spectacular M. C. Escher exhibition. Escher is more than just his transformations and optical illusions. There are many amazing woodblock prints and lithographs of Amalfi, Abruzzi, Sicily and many other European locations. And other amazing still lifes and intimate images.

But, wait! There’s more! The Currier also owns and exhibits the Zimmerman House, a Frank Lloyd Wright Usonian house and the only Wright house in New England open the public.

Looking for the Escher exhibit, I stumbled across a small contemporary furniture exhibit. Only five pieces but nice pieces. I don’t always like contemporary furniture but these I liked.

First is Spring Desk, 1996 by Jere Osgood:

I mightn't buy it but if gifted...

I mightn’t buy it but if gifted…

And the True Love Blues, 2000 by Jon Brooks:

A settee with staff.

A settle with staff.

Since my stats are down, you have to go to Flickr to see the entire set HERE.

And they have period furniture as well. Soon.