I have written a few blogs about bodging and being bodged. My most favorite were My Mother was a Soviet Bodger and Teenaged Mutant Ninja Bodgers. Bodging as I use it means doing what must be done to make things work the best you can. Often modifying hardware to make it work.

The last blog was mostly about using bail or pull escutcheons for keyhole escutcheons. Like this:

Not the prettiest mod ever.

Not the prettiest mod ever.

Last week, I saw a chest that had escutcheons that seem to be designed to work either way. This is an escutcheon used with a bail.

Note the outline of a keyhole.

Note the outline of a keyhole.

And the keyhole version:

Was it a knockout or were tools required?

Was it a knockout or were tools required?

It works. Keeps down your escutcheon inventory.

And it looks better than just banging in a hole.