There are often things I see at auctions and shops that are interesting yet are not easily classified. Objects that don’t really fit into categories of furniture that I write about. They are unique items that need to be shared.

It’s what I do.

First up is this wicker casket:

Used to transport the recently deceased to wherever they are transported to.

Used in earlier times to transport the recently deceased to wherever they are transported to.

Back in the days before gurnies and body bags.

Back in the days before gurneys and body bags.

I think it’s perfect for the casual, springtime funeral.

I first covered this item in Behold the Lowly Gout Rocker. I have seem other gout rockers since but this is the first one of this form I’ve seen:

A gout rocker, only different.

A gout rocker, only different.

Ever need to find a use for that spare baby grand piano you have kicking around. Just turn it into a fabulous table like this one:

Nice piano, nicer table.

Nice piano, nicer table.

Then there is this most unusual gun cabinet:

Very unusual.

Very unusual.

What makes it unusual? It’s empty. Lots of second amendment enthusiasts in North Carolina.

And what oddities collection would be complete without some tool? Consider this coffin smother:

A low angle coffin smoother.

A low angle coffin smoother.

A narrow, low angle coffin smoother.

A narrow, low angle coffin smoother.

I found this decorated coffin smoother.

A Christmas smoother?

A Christmas smoother?

They called it a coffin smoother but I thought it looked more like a Mary Jane, as in the style of women’s shoe.

More rounded that most coffins.

More rounded that most coffins.

And lastly, this laminated mallet with an interesting taper:

Taper is not what I expected.

Taper is not what I expected.

It reminds me of…

Gyro meat!

Gyro meat!