After visiting the H.O. Studley tool chest in Cedar Rapids on Saturday, I found myself with nothing to do. I knew I was going to head back to Hand Works 2015 in Amana but not until later in the day. I was there all day on Friday and was tired of crowds. Things should clear out by 3:00 PM or so.

After considering my options, I decided to see if by chance there were any antiques shops in town. As luck would have it, there were. Enough to keep me busy for a few hours.

In one handsome Victorian turned overstuffed antiques shop, I found another tool chest. This one is smaller and at $55, more affordable.

The tool chest (not) of my dreams.

The tool chest (not) of my dreams.

Do not be too quick to dismiss this chest. It does have some professional quality features. Like an English pattern layout square:

Just like Chris Schwarz makes.

Just like Chris Schwarz makes.

A European style smoothing plane:

Who needs  E. C. Emmerich Primus Planes?

Who needs E. C. Emmerich Primus Planes?

And an assortment of o other useful tools:

The distinctive blue color applied to the tools will assure that you will be taking home all your tools from your next class.

The distinctive blue color lovingly applied will assure that you will be taking home all YOUR tools from your next class.

It’s all there. A wooden mallet. A pair of slip joint pliers. Zig-zag rule. Abrasives. I know the screw drivers will work equally well as chisels or pry bars.

Not as nice as the Studley but how many tools do you really need to fit piano keyboards?