As I have mentioned before, the antiques dealers in Cameron, NC have an antiques street fair the first Saturday in May and October. The town has many dealers and the open space between the shops if filled with peripatetic dealers or churches and non-profits sponsored parking lots. And food vendors offering products of questionable nutritional value. (I married a dietitian that really likes good food.)

I already got one blog out of the May event. In Another Day of Firsts, I wrote about a unique cradle and beveled door gaps on an armoire:

Door gap concealed by beveled door edges.

Door gap concealed by beveled door edges.

Believe it or not, there was more to see. Like this rather handsome, two-toned  cabinet:

At one of the permanent shops but it still counts.

At one of the permanent shops but it still counts. It might not be old but it is interesting.

One well know author, publisher and furniture enthusiast that been writing (and building) much furniture of rather simple construction generally and “staked furniture” specifically. I saw this bench:

I believe it is staked.

I believe it is staked.

with unique legs:

A form I haven't seen before.

A form I haven’t seen before.

And a small decorated box:

Again, one of the permanent dealers.

Again, one of the permanent dealers.

The last teaser I offer here is yet another “secret” compartment. It exists in this blanket chest:

The secret lies within.

The secret lies within.

It has this ordinary looking till:

Why is this till different from all other tills?

Why is this till different from all other tills?

The front wall of the till lifts revealing drawers:

Front till rides in dadoes and is captive.

Till front rides in dadoes and is captive.

Two drawers:

Don't love the pulls but they are low profile and low cost.

Don’t love the pulls but they are low profile and low-cost.

You can see these and all the rest at my Flickr set by clicking HERE.

That’s all for now. I will be back in Cameron come October 3rd.

The blog pace should increase now that I am back from my sister’s wedding in Missouri. Who gets married on a Wednesday?