Looking through unreleased photo sets on Flickr, I found yet another till with a secret. I know it’s hard to believe but they were fairly common with only the technique changing slightly.

This chest looks innocent enough. A dovetailed blanket chest:

A chest like many other chests.

A chest like many other chests.

with its till on the left.

Most tills are on the left.

Most tills are on the left.

Suspiciously, the till is deeper on the outside than the inside, always a clue. A bit of experimentation reveals the drawer:

You knew there would be a drawer.

You knew there would be a drawer.

In this case, the dado on the right, (back)  of the chest, is deeper. You slide the till front to the right (rear) and left side a (toward the front) swings clear of the case and is free. Like this:

A deep dado and a loose till front.

A deep dado and a loose till front.

I am impressed with the number of different ways that furniture makes have found to  almost hide things. At least the ones I have found. There is a desk in Danville, PA that has a secret compartment we haven’t cracked yet.

There are other items in this set like this blanket chest with no (known) secret compartments:

No secrets but a nice job of grain painting.

No secrets but a nice job of grain painting.

Here we have somebody’s partial collection of coffee grinders:

Lots more than I have.

Lots more than I have. I don’t drink coffee. Or collect coffee grinders.

Lots more to see at my Flickr that you can find HERE.

More later.