Over to Popular Woodworking, I just read a blog about the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, Mass. I can’t remember who wrote the blog. I think it was that tall guy. Hirsute. Glasses. Used to be an editor there. Name is Topher Dulyn or something to that effect. If I remember, I’ll edit this crap out.

I read the blog and remembered I was there in December and wrote a blog about the Nathaniel Gould exhibit titled Nathaniel Gould Was Not a Bodger, He Fitted Skillfully. The exhibit was titled In Plain Sight: Discovering the Furniture of Nathaniel Gould. I will publish all my pictures from the exhibit in the next day or two.

Today’s blog is about the furniture in the permanent collection. I have pictures of the same furniture that Topher has in his blog. His blog is all about showing pictures of people with the furniture having a good time and being impressed. I really have no interest in pictures of people. I have 26,209 pictures in my iPhoto library with maybe 20 pictures with people in them. Then only because I got tired of waiting for them to walk out of frame. We have different priorities.

I was going to post all these pictures in December but other things came up and they got lost in the mess that December became. It was a very odd December and I will tell all shortly. Or not.

Moving on, here are some common pictures. There is this table without Phil Lowe:

It looks so lonely here.

It looks so lonely here.

More no Phil:

Nobody in the mirror either.

Nobody in the mirror either.

I do have this leg detail:

More of a frame detail, actually.

More of a frame detail, actually.

No Phil, Peter Follansbee might be more appropriate:

Looks old, must be why it's in a museum.

Looks old, must be why it’s in a museum.

And this one:

I don't think he had the chair.

He had the chair, too. Must be a set.

For my preview, I will add a painted chest:

No charge, consider it a gift.

No charge, consider it a gift.

To see all my Peabody Essex Museum, follow this LINK.