It drives me a little crazy between those bemoaning cutting hinge mortises and those writing articles on cutting the perfect hinge mortise. Before your next kvetch, consider this hinge and its mortise:

Not your average hinge.

Try this with your router jig.

It is from this chest:

Right view.

Right view.

Left view.

Left view.

Head on.

Head on.

It is a very interesting chest. I found this one in an antiques mall in St. Charles, MO. (More on that later.) There seems to be remnants of a till on the left. I have no clue about the lid painting. I am willing to entertain any theories or certainties offered.

The chest also has this elegant yet simple handle:

Handcrafted.

Hand crafted. I’ve not seen another like it. Well, close…

I tried to get a picture of the back of the chest but it was heavy and close to the wall.

And the manager was watching.

And the manager was watching.