Last blog was about an epiphany I had while viewing Virginia furniture over the weekend. Might not all be Virginia furniture so I should say viewing furniture in Virginia. I like being precise. Curse of an engineer.

I would love to show you the furniture from Montpelier but photography is not permitted. I can show you the furniture from Point of Honor in Lynchburg. They allow photography and, as you would expect, I took photographs. I had to work quickly so as not to annoy the docent, the rest of the tour and my wife. Most importantly, my wife.

You’ve already seen this interesting step back cupboard:

Interesting top, isn't it.

Interesting top, isn’t it.

There is this server:

Lighting here was challenging.

Lighting here was challenging.

This server is attributed to a Lynchburg furniture maker. I can’t recall the name but he arrived as an adult and left after a few years. So was he a Lynchburg furniture maker of a furniture maker that spent time in Lynchburg?

I really liked this dresser:

Wonderful use of veneer.

Wonderful use of veneer.

And a sewing table:

Every historic house needs one.

Every historic house needs one.

You have also seen this cupboard from the kitchen:

Worth another look.

Worth another look.

To see 51 photos of early 19th century Virginia furniture from Point of Honor, click HERE.