I don’t usually take pictures of chairs. At least not in the same way I do other furniture. There is just so much about chairs I don’t know. I see ladderbacks with two or three rungs. Different styles of turnings. Different feet and finials. I’m sure it all has meaning. I just don’t know what they are telling me.

I was in back in Baton Rouge, LA a few weeks back and couldn’t resist another visit to the LSU Rural Life Museum. I was there last year and was fascinated by the place. Too much to see. I got four blogs out of it!

I knew there couldn’t be that much new in a year but I wanted to see it all again. Then I started noticing all the chairs There are a lot of them there. Some are not ones I typically see. Some are variations that are… unique.

Here we see ladderback with what seems to be a leather seat:

Leather seat is different.

Leather seat is different.

If you look at the back you see that the rungs are not mortised in but nailed on.

IMG_3629

Not aware of seeing this before.

Closer view.

Closer view.

This is a more typical chair:

Still has a leather seat.

Still has a leather seat.

Rungs are mortised in. Typical.

Rungs are mortised in. Typical.

Here is another novel chair, springs under the front legs:

The spring is different.

The spring is different.

Nice spring. My chairs don't have them. Most chairs don't.

Nice spring. My chairs don’t have them. Most chairs don’t. Interesting attachment though.

To see these and the rest of the chairs from the Rural Life Museum, click HERE.

If you are feeling nostalgic or weren’t around last year, here are the four blogs from 2014. Just click on one to be taken back in time.

Buildings and Grounds at the LSU Rural Life Museum

Furniture and Other Things from the Rural Life Museum

Woodworking from the Rural Life Museum

Things for the Metal Fan from the Rural Life Museum