The Gamble House was the Pasadena home of David B. Gamble of Proctor and Gamble fame. It was designed by brothers Charles Sumner Greene and Henry Mather Greene of the architectural firm Greene and Greene and constructed 1908–09. It is an American Arts & Crafts Masterpiece.

I have toured the house several times, the last being a few years back when Woodworking in America was in Pasadena. The Popular Woodworking crew arranged a private after hours tour and dinner. Only slight problem was that the Gamble House is dark on a bright California afternoon. Some relatively small windows, big overhangs and period-correct lighting doesn’t help. At night it was really dark. But well worth the effort not have a docent trying to keep you on their schedule. Photography was permitted.

Another positive was that I got to have dinner with Bob Lang. At least I think it was Bob Lang. Did I mention it was dark?

I saw an article in the L.A. Times the other day that there has just been a new 200 page book (with pictures) about the Gamble House, the first publication on the house since its 2004 restoration. Read the L.A. Times article if only for the pictures.

Below are two Gamble House pictures that came from some earnest, hardworking photographers via a Google image search..

A really good photographer took this one.

A really good photographer took this one.

This one too. I think they were using a different lens.

This one too. I think they were using a different lens.

If you make it to the Los Angeles area, you should take a tour. It is well worth the effort and money.

I haven’t seen the book yet but knowing the subject, it is probably worth the $60 list price. And Christmas is coming.

Look, I’m promoting a book and it’s not from Lost Art Press.